PhD News

Congratulations to Ph.D. student Saud Alotaibi

Congratulations to 2nd year Ph.D. Student Saud Alotaibi on his selection as a 2018 Founders' Fellow for the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA). ASPA is one of the premier professional organizations in our field and this is the second year in a row that the PADM Ph.D. program had one of our students elected for this prestigious honor. The fellowship recognizes outstanding Ph.D. students and provides them opportunities to work with senior scholars in the field of Public Administration. 

Recipients of Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Grant

Dr. Hee Soun Jang (PADM) and Dr. Jesus Valero (University of Utah) have been named recipients of a prestigious Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Grant to conduct a study on the impact of cross-sector collaboration on health and health equity among homeless individuals and families. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) is the nation’s largest philanthropy dedicated solely to health.    


Dr. Brian Williams, PhD Alumnus

PhD Candidate, Brian D. Williams, successfully defended his dissertation entitiled, “An Investigation of the Impact of Social Vulnerability Research on the Practice of Emergency Management.” The committee members for his dissertation were Drs. Gary Webb (chair), Abraham D. Benavides, and Dr. Ronald Schumann. Dr. Williams has been an instructor in the Department of Political Science at Lamar University in Beaumont, TX beginning in Fall 2016. 

Congratulations, Brian, on this important achievement!

PhD Student Wins ASPA Dissertation Award and Fellowship

Congratulations to Orkhan Ismayilov. His dissertation proposal, “Effect of Natural Disasters on Economy: Growth in the Green Job Sector in Local Governments” has won the Third Annual Dissertation Award sponsored by the American Society for Public Administration (ASPA) Section on Emergency and Crisis Management (SECM). He received this award during the SECM Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia on Sunday, March 19.

In addition, Orkhan received the prestigious Founders Fellow award at the ASPA Annual Meeting on Monday, March 20, 2017. The fellowship recognizes outstanding PhD students and provides them opportunities to work with senior scholars in the field of Public Administration. 

Newest PhD Alumni, Dr. Laura Keyes

Congratulations to Laura Marie Keyes for successfully defending her dissertation “Age Friendly Cities: The Bureaucratic Responsiveness Factors of Age Friendly Policy Adoption.” Her well-polished and timely research was presented this morning. Her committee members included Drs. Benavides, Jang and Siebeneck.

Again, Congratulation Dr. Keyes!! 

MPA Alumnus Tapped to be Dallas City Manager

Congrats to UNT alumnus T.C. Broadnax, who is the sole finalist to become Dallas city manager, as confirmed by news outlets such as WFAA and NBC 5. Mr. Broadnax is one of many city managers throughout the state who have earned their M.P.A. from UNT and have gone on to lead some of the biggest and fastest-growing cities. Our M.P.A. program is ranked 1st in Texas and 13th in the nation by U.S. News & World Report.


Congratulations to 2017 ASPA Founders Fellows!

Congratulations to PhD student Orkhan Ismayilov and to Dr. Michael Overton (alumnus 2015) for being selected as 2017 ASPA Founders Fellows. The award comes with trip expenses being paid for the National ASPA (The American Society for Public Administration) conference in Atlanta next year and an opportunity to be assigned a mentor for the upcoming year. This year, ASPA divided the award between MPA students, Ph.D. students, and recent graduates.

The Department is being well represented in the committees selection this year. We commend you both for your achievement! 


Subscribe to RSS - PhD News