PhD Student Association and Outstanding Students

The Ph.D. student association was started in 2009 shortly after the program began in 2005. The vision for the association is to provide Ph.D. students an opportunity to further their relationships both in the classroom and outside. The association has organized study groups, encouraged students to participate in department colloquiums, and of course provided a number of opportunities to mingle and have lunch and dinner together. The Department of Public Administration annually identifies an outstanding Ph.D. student who is recognized at one of the association events. Below is a list of both outstanding Ph.D. students and past association presidents.

PADM Doctoral Student Association Executive Board
March 2017- March 2018
President Julie Winkler
Vice President Abdullah Alshammari
Secretary Saud Alotaibi
Treasurer Jie Tao


Outstanding Ph.D. Students
2016-2017 – Laura Keyes
2015-2016 – Julius Nukpezah
2014-2015 – Jesus Valero
2013-2014 – Kyujin Jung
2012-2013 – Marina Saitgalina
2011-2012 -David Wachira
2010-2011 – Laurie Long
2009-2010 - Eliot Jennings
2008-2009 - Amy Holt


Ph.D. Past Student Association Presidents
2016-2017 – Tayfun Ayazma
2015-2016 – Kyungwoo Kim (John)
2014-2015 – Brian Williams
2013-2014 – Jesus Valero
2012-2013 - Ashley Hyder English
2011-2012 – Xiangyu Li (Dale)
2010-2011 – Laurie Long
2009-2010 – Laurie Long

Follow us on Facebook!